Blogger Templates by Blogcrowds

Eduardo ban revoked

Monday, September 14, 2009

The Eduardo diving scandal has finally come to an end. After the incident against Celtic and days of various players and managers criticising and defending him, Eduardo has had his two European game ban revoked.

Eduardo got the headlines for days after he was accused of deceiving the referee in the Champions League qualifying game against Celtic. Dudu appeared to dive after Arthur Boruc pulled away his hands but the penalty was given, much to the fury of the Celtic players. Uefa, however, think differently.

"Following examination of all the evidence, notably the declarations of both the referee and the referees' assessor, as well as the various video footage, it was not established to the panel's satisfaction that the referee had been deceived in taking his decision on the penalty."

Personally, I think Uefa have made the right decision, but I think a punishment should definitely be handed out for every player caught diving.


Post a Comment